2017

Well, it’s fair to say my plan of regularly updating my blog at uni went well.

I’m very aware that it’s been a couple of months since I last posted on here, and also that my presence on twitter has been similarly lacking recently. It’s fair to say life, and work, has finally caught up with me.

Since I last posted, a lot has happened. My performances in my shorts at UEA were well received, as was my episode of Casualty. I’ve since co-directed a full-length play, entitled ‘Custard’, which received some nice reviews, and am now co-directing a forty minute play about feminism, written by a close friend. I’ve also missed out on seeing The Queen of England in the flesh by a matter of minutes, discovered the genius of Harold Pinter and agreed to live with four amazing housemates next year.

In terms of film, I’ve been lucky enough to interview Gemma Arterton, Sam Claflin and Asa Butterfield since I last blogged, and have been watching some brilliant films in recent weeks. For the record, I sit firmly in the pro-La La Land camp, but it’s also fair to say I was blown away by Manchester-by-the-Sea, Jackie and Lion. In considering these movies, it’s strange to consider how prevalent the theme of guilt is. In fact, sometimes I think that guilt is the strongest emotion we feel as human beings (yeah – getting deep here!). At the moment I’m planning my year ahead, and have decided that at some point in the 2017/2018 year I want to produce a production of Macbeth. Macbeth is a play that I’ve long adored, but am often frustrated by. Too often does its directors make power the principal theme of the play. I’m not saying that power is not a vital part of Shakespeare’s message, but I think the twin themes of guilt and grief are much more interesting to explore within the text – especially if you (like me) dearly adore the theory concerning Macbeth and Lady Macbeth having a child prior to the events of the play.

That paragraph went on a bit of a tangent, didn’t it?

I thought it would be best to start on this blog again, and you should blame a guy on my course called Seb Fear for constantly nagging at me to return to it. I’m hoping I’m back for longer than last time.

Leave a Reply

